Victor Bachmann

April 4, 2010

TFC 10: High Octane

Filed under: About me,Fights — The Professor @ 7:01 pm

Pass and Smash

My last fight, just a few weeks ago, was with The Fight Club  (TFC) against Markhaile Wedderburn.

Wedderburn had called my out 2 years ago when I held the CBF MMA title. Later, he sent me a message asking if I’d be willing to fight him. Being a good style match up for me, I told him I would, no problem; it would be fun and exciting fight. I suggested we get TFC to set it up and make that my first title defense.

There are a couple popular internet forums focused on Canadian MMA. He started making noise about wanting a chance at the title with all the typical fight building smack talk. I don’t pay much attention to these things, so when some of my teammates told me I was a little surprised and really amused.

That title defense never happened. Before the fight was even set up, I seriously injured my knee and was sidelined for a few months.

2 years later, I am finally getting ready for that fight- to take place at TFC 10 on March 19. As it usually goes with my fights (and most fights) I was originally set to fight one person but as the date gets closer, people get injured and my opponent changes a few times. I have had most of my fights cancelled and it seemed like this one wasn’t going to happen.

It was 3 weeks out and I wouldn’t have been very upset if TFC didn’t find me an opponent. I got the flu mid-camp and lost a ton of weight, had a bunch of injuries, and didn’t feel that I would have been ready to fight.

Then TFC found a replacement, Markhaile Wedderburn. I have never dropped out from a fight and this was the only time I ever considered it. But we finally had a chance to make this fight happen, it was a good style match up, and I could push for the next 3 weeks and get ready enough. The fight was on.

The rest of the camp went well. Teammates Mitch Clarke and Sheldon Westcott were fighting on the same card, so I had great training partners. While I wasn’t as strong or endurant as I like to be, I had trained my game plan and was ready for this fight.

I finished the fight in the 1st round. Wedderburn was a kickboxer and as a wrestler my game plan was pretty obvious. Rush for a take down, punch him in the face and if he gives up his neck take it and choke him out. It played out perfectly and by 3:38, Wedderburn was in a rear-naked choke, tapping out.

After every fight, when talking to my opponents, I consider the amount of opponents I’ve had drop out I am always grateful to the ones who do show up and fight.

1 Comment »

  1. Wow. Pretty impressive that you fought off the flu in camp and were still that dominant against Wedderburn. I had never heard of TFC until the other night when one of my sports channels aired High Octane. I was very impressed at the level a lot of you guys are at. Mitch Clarke, Westcott, Valimaki and yourself I think are all gonna make pretty big waves in the mma scene. Is there any way to get these TFC events on dvd?

    Lee

    Comment by Lee McCoy — April 4, 2010 @ 12:50 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

