Victor Bachmann

April 30, 2010

Let’s Get It On!

Filed under: Fights — The Professor @ 12:57 pm

Where I wanted to be. All too briefly.

Last Friday was my match up against Jordan Mein in the opening round of Let’s Get It On MMA’s welterweight tournament.

A tough draw for sure. Out of all the fighters in the tournament, Mein has the most fights and wins. My last fight, 5 weeks ago, was a good lead up to this fight. The style match up was similar, my wrestler style versus a striker. Since I didn’t get injured, I simply carried on with the same training camp and game plan.

The fight started out as planned. I got a take down right away, got on top, and started punching. He managed get to his feet. Every time I dragged him down, he’d get right back up until we ended up against the cage, trading knees. As I was working for a single, Mein grabbed onto a cross face and nearly twisted my head off and I was forced to tap.

It was a good fight and it was obvious that Jordan Mein had trained to defend against a wrestler. While I got him down right away, I couldn’t keep him down. He fought hard to keep me out of position, stayed low, and didn’t give up his posture to strike. Ultimately, it was him putting me out of position that allowed him to put on the neck crank.

This isn’t my first loss. If I keep fighting challenging opponents, it won’t be my last. While I am disappointed that I lost and more disappointed that I won’t be continuing on in the tournament, this is the first loss I’ve had where I am satisfied with my performance.

Where I ended up.

Not how my head is supposed to turn, or where I wanted the fight to go.

My other losses, against Aaron Bruce and Claude Patrick, I felt that I hadn’t fought to the best of my ability. Either I hadn’t trained properly, wasn’t mentally prepared, etc. I don’t want to imply that I could/should/would have won those fights, just that I hadn’t put on the best performance that I could.

With this fight, I wouldn’t have fought any other way. I made some technical mistakes and I will have to watch the fight to see what those are. I went in with a game plan and followed through with it. Mein went in with a plan and his won one over. Someone has to lose, and sometimes it’s going to be me.

Win or lose, there is a lot to learn from every fight. The lesson I am taking away from this fight have more to do with where I am as fighter rather than the game plan or preparation. The way Mein was fighting, it was obvious that he had trained to defeat me, not just any fighter. The problem with using the same tactics, effective or not, is that that sooner or later someone will find a way to beat it.

The only thing left is to continue training. I was fully planning on being in this tournament until the end. Now, who to fight? and where?

Update: Pictures courtesy of Jason Bouwmeester, Pixelens and Top MMA News!

2 Comments »

  1. I love this attitude and find it an inspiration in fighting and life. Thanks for reminding me why I love this sport. Your all class bro’.

    Comment by Nolan Clark — April 30, 2010 @ 1:57 pm | Reply

  2. Great write up Victor!

    Very tough first opponent.

    Comment by grienk — April 30, 2010 @ 2:36 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.